As hard as it is to admit your relationship is over, once you get to the point where you are ready to end your marriage, you likely want to be free of your spouse as soon as possible. But how fast can you be free? That answer varies state-to-state, with multiple considerations. Generally speaking, in Texas, you may be able to embrace your newfound single life in about two months.
By filing your divorce petition and providing legal notification to your soon-to-be ex, you may navigate your divorce after just 60 days. Here are some things that can help speed up the process:
- Willingness to negotiate with your spouse. While some of your marital property is important to you, disagreeing over it may prolong your divorce. You may consider conceding on things in lieu of a speedier settlement.
- Knowing where the money is. To divide your assets, knowing where your money is will prove helpful in protecting yourself beyond the divorce. If you believe your spouse has hidden assets, you may consider hiring a forensic accountant to determine the full extent of your marital property.
- Understanding custody laws. A general understanding of Texas child custody laws may help you and your spouse come to a more amicable custody and parenting time agreement by helping you avoid surprise custody issues or unnecessary fights over the children.
Because the divorce process can be incredibly painful, understanding your rights can help as you move your divorce along as quickly as possible.
While a 60 day divorce is possible in Texas, the length of your divorce process will depend on your situation, choices and how flexible you are in regard to your needs at the forefront of your negotiations. An attorney may help you decide what is most important for you.