Representing Clients Throughout Houston And Surrounding Areas  •  Se Habla Español

Texas requires a 60-day waiting period for divorce 

On Behalf of | Sep 23, 2021 | Divorce |

We live in a push-button world that has conditioned us to have instant results. When it comes to divorce, some feel that their marriage can’t be over soon enough. A little patience is called for in Texas, however. Texas has an obligatory 60-day waiting period before finalizing divorces. 

This waiting period may seem like an unnecessary inconvenience, but this time can be used constructively. A waiting period does not mean that all progress is frozen. Many things can, and should, be done during this time to make the most of it. 

Purpose of the 60-day waiting period

The legislation has helped reduce the number of divorces because people know they will have to wait to be granted one. The idea behind the required waiting period is to give separating couples the time they need to decide if their relationship can be reconciled or not. If there is any doubt whatsoever, then now is a good time to seek therapy or counseling to see if the marriage can be repaired. 

Exemptions from the 60-day waiting period

There are almost always exemptions in the law. A waiting period is not required if there is domestic violence involved. Under Section 71.004, the law allows for the waiting period to be waived if one spouse has been convicted of family violence or if there is a restraining order in place. 

What can you do during the 60-day waiting period?

The 60 days can simply be counted down on a calendar, or this time can be used wisely to collect documents as well as seek temporary orders that address parenting time, alimony, child support, and payment of debts and bills. 

Furthermore, during this time you can hammer out the details of your divorce through negotiations with your spouse and try to resolve any outstanding issues without the court’s involvement. The more you know about the Texas divorce process, the better you can plan your future.